Topic: Quick way to swap textures?  (Read 2721 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Roychipoqua_Mace

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Gender: Male
Quick way to swap textures?
« on: May 20, 2010, 03:39:59 pm »
Although many of the textures for the models of Firesoul's OP+ 4.0 are beautiful, I would like to change the ships of each race to a certain color (light blue for Feds, pale red for Klinks, pale green for Romulans, etc.). That way, it would give all the models a unified feel and also make it easier to tell players apart in large scale multiplayer games.

I tested it out on the stock FCA in EAW, changing all the colored surface textures to solid light blue and all the B&W lighting textures to solid black. The problem is that it took a while and I would like to do this for every ship in the game, so I'm wondering if there is a way to batch change all the textures in a certain folder to make it quicker? If that isn't possible, would it be quicker to remap each .mod to tell it to look at only two textures -- the solid colored surface texture and the solid black lighting texture?

Thanks in advance. :)

Offline FoaS_XC

  • Photorps, Sammiches, woot woot.
  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 4571
  • Gender: Male
    • Robinomicon
Re: Quick way to swap textures?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 03:41:45 pm »
You could probably write a batch file to copy from a location to a list of different locations.
Robinomicon
"When I was 5 years old, my mom always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down “happy.” They told me I didn’t understand the assignment and I told them they didn’t understand life."

Offline Roychipoqua_Mace

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Gender: Male
Re: Quick way to swap textures?
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 03:45:54 pm »
You could probably write a batch file to copy from a location to a list of different locations.

Thanks, I'll look into that.

Offline FoaS_XC

  • Photorps, Sammiches, woot woot.
  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 4571
  • Gender: Male
    • Robinomicon
Re: Quick way to swap textures?
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2010, 06:57:19 pm »
There's something to be said for playing with unpainted models. Like he said - he can identify the race of a ship at a far distance and at a casual glance. Cool idea, methinks.
Robinomicon
"When I was 5 years old, my mom always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down “happy.” They told me I didn’t understand the assignment and I told them they didn’t understand life."

Offline Roychipoqua_Mace

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 786
  • Gender: Male
Re: Quick way to swap textures?
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2010, 11:05:03 pm »
It's definitely something I'd have to play a few full games with to see if the idea is any good before I could compare it to the regular game. I think I got the idea from seeing the unpainted meshes from modelers like yourselves. The meshes have a certain appeal before the textures are applied.

I dunno I think maybe having a single texture applied to each model would really work.... reduce the time of loading by 1000... You could also think of altering the textures for the weapon sprites and such to maybe recreate the feel..... that would actually make a very kick ass mod..... Ok,,, just to clarify I'm ok saying ass right? since 5 year olds have access to toys from "kick ass" which would now mean it has become a none offensive word?

I think I might go this route . . . I have barely any programming experience, and looking at examples of batch files was above my skill. Do you mean simplifying the weapons textures to make them also solid? That could be interesting, giving the game a very digital feel.


Offline atheorhaven

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1801
    • Mare Imbrium Shipyards
Re: Quick way to swap textures?
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2010, 12:50:50 am »
Here's what I'd do personally.. just an example of what can be done..

@echo off
:: remove ::'s from the front of lines needed
:: change to the drive with SFC on it
c:
cd "Program Files"
goto CHANGEDIR

:CHANGEDIR
:: change to SFC 1 dir
:: cd "14 East"
:: change to SFC 2 dir
:: cd Taldren
:: change to SFC 3 dir
:: cd Activision
goto MODEL

:MODEL
:: don't have the paths handy, so these will be examples
:: modify to proper paths
cd Assets
cd Models
cd FCA
goto MODIFY

:MODIFY
:: by now, we're in whatever directory we need to be in.
:: time to boogie
if not exist blank.bmp rem > blank.bmp
md baks
cd baks
for %%x in (*.pcx *.bmp *.jpg *.tga) do copy /y copy ..\%%x .
cd ..
for %%x in (*.pcx *.bmp *.jpg *.tga) do copy /y blank.bmp %%x
goto END

::END
:: All done!
exit
..ooOOoo..totally useless information..ooOOoo..

Mare Imbrium Shipyards - http://mareimbrium.webhop.net

Don't bother checking out my website for the most recent updates, because I've
been too lazy to update it!  Check Battleclinic!