Topic: I got taken for a ride, I think  (Read 9267 times)

Offline xlr8

• Lt. Junior Grade
I got taken for a ride, I think
« on: August 27, 2008, 08:38:24 pm »
I'm a long time gamer, but for whatever reason I totally glossed over the fact that there was an SFC3. I only realized it after the Star Trek Online hype started a bit back.

So... To the net I go and discover that people want between 80 and 150 bucks for the game. Yay, lawsuits.  :D

I finally located a guy by talking with a girl that works at the gamestop nearby. He sells me his "slightly used" SFC3 game (in a box!) for 50 bucks. It was mailed to me. I get what is obviously a burned CD with a cheese label on it and a CD key of 0000-0000-0000-XXXX (last 4 digits hidden but rest are true zeros.)

So Im guessing I got a burnt game with a master unlock key, right? And I'm also guessing I wont be able to play online, right?

The game patched and all that jazz -- I just started the Kling campaign in SP.... but I WANT to go online. Any chance of that?

Offline xlr8

• Lt. Junior Grade
Re: I got taken for a ride, I think
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2008, 12:00:20 am »
Heeeeeeeellllllllooooooo... didnt sign up & post this for my personal amusement  ;D

Offline marstone

• Because I can
  • Commander
  • G.E.C.K. - The best kit to have
    • Ramblings on the Q3, blog
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2008, 01:56:38 am »
Heeeeeeeellllllllooooooo... didnt sign up & post this for my personal amusement  ;D

most likely you got suckered.  Some of the guys who do SFCIII will probably post the same later (got to be patient on here, usually you get a quick answer, but sometimes they take alittle)
The smell of printer ink in the morning,
Tis the smell of programming.

Offline Pestalence_XC

• "The Terminator"
  • Commander
  • "The Terminator" Pestalence_XC, Xenocorp
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2008, 02:03:33 am »
If you want to buy a legit copy, look on Amazon for an unopened package.