Topic: OT: Vista and SFC  (Read 4554 times)

Offline Smiley

• Lt. Junior Grade
Re: OT: Vista and SFC
« Reply #20 on: June 23, 2007, 08:22:15 pm »
Funny. All the complaints your making about Vista were made about XP.

You don't have to upgrade if you don't want to.

Really?

Goodness... and there we were thinking we had to....

Signature: Terran Empire Relentless: WZ, All Other Models: Smiley

Offline atheorhaven

• Lt. Commander
    • Mare Imbrium Shipyards
« Reply #21 on: June 25, 2007, 09:00:44 am »
Just throwing in a few quick sentences on this one.

My day job is working in the PC support field.  Been doing that for a few years now.  Have worked for, and supported four major PC manufacturers now (the oldest being Compaq, and now a two letter, three letter, and four letter computer company).  I started off supporting Windows 98SE, Windows 2000, and XP.

My home systems run Windows 2000 (except one box that I keep running as an experiemental box.. it's still running Windows 95 with Litestep).  ;)  My upgrade path?  I'll be moving to Linux as a serious path.

Activation was bad enough in XP, but I'm not going to be spending time futzing around with an OS that will disable parts of itself because of concerns that someone may lose imaginary revenue from some imaginary people that aren't buying enough commercial DVD's.  To me, that's the reality of Vista.  Not mention the hardware upgrades (again), the useless features, the more intrustive acitvation.  Forget all that.

I've already been spending some quality time with PCLinux, and am going to spend more working with VMWare and creating a virtual Windows 2k box to run my bought copy of 3dsMax 3.1 and Paint Shop Pro 7.  Anything else is migratory into Linux.  And may go with something like CrossOffice to migrate over some of the other Windows applications into Linux.

I may make my living off supporting Windows, but I have not sold my soul to it..