Topic: Using Artifex  (Read 2485 times)

nx_adam_1701

Using Artifex
« on: October 21, 2003, 03:10:57 am »
I'm trying to create my own map, but I have limited knowledge on how to do so...., First question is when making a new map for the game, do I need to make three different maps, early, middle, and late for the campaign, not only one rite, I have to make three??????.........

Next question is ohhhh I forgot to mention I making new maps because I want a TNG map, not the TMP one thats there ok back to the second question, As I was looking thru the artifex and playing around with it I noticed that when choosing your base you have to choose btwn Bs, SB, BT, LP, DEF, how about if I want a stabase but also maybe around 4 defense platforms around it, how do I implement that using artifex, I just dont want a SB only, or a LP, with one Defense platform, so those are the two questions, how many maps do i have to make for a campaign single player, and can you put a base with def around

adam out

NuclearWessels

Re: Using Artifex
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2003, 07:28:15 am »
In the campaign's .mct file you specify which map you want to use for whichever era you'll start in, and you specify which era you want to start in.  Based on those two factors it loads your created map at the start of the campaign and then maintains that internally forever after.  So if you want to you can create just a single map, and specify that that map is used no matter what era you start in.

When creating the map, the BS/SB/BATS/LP designation for a map hex just classifies the primary base type for the hex and generates a single AI base of that type in that hex at the start of the campaign -- any additional bases that appear in a mission have to be generated by the mission scripts themselves, it can't be done at the map layer.

dave

Tombstone

« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2003, 01:23:41 pm »